You are here: Home / WHAT WE DO / FAIR TRADE / TESTIMONIES

TESTIMONIES - FAIR TRADE

rukija-bakari-testimonyRukija Bakari has been working on the Afrikable project for almost 2 years. She works as a seamstress in the textile group, Jimudu. Before, she earned her money going from house to house offering her services as a cleaner or cook. Sometimes she found work, sometimes she didn't She has 6 children, and when her husband abandoned her, she had to face educating and feeding all her children alone. She barely managed to send her oldest son to secondary school, but the two younger school-aged children were not in school. Now the two youngest are ready to go to into primary education next year, and the three oldest are already at secondary school.

“I love my work; knowing that I’ll have a salary every month helps me to plan my expenses. Now in the shops, they trust me. I can borrow money because they know that at the end of the month, I will pay them. In the future, I would like to start some sort of business to complement my salary. With such a large family, it is difficult to save. I have not yet succeeded.”

 


khadija-hassan-testimonyKhadija Hassan has worked in Afrikable since the beginning. After several promotions, she is currently responsible for the fair trade shop in Lamu. After her husband left her, she went with her daughter to live with her parents. As she was able to complete secondary education, she sometimes worked as a secretary writing letters and bills. She earned just €1.50 for an 11-hour day.

 

“My life has improved a lot since I started working for Afrikable. I can now send money home regularly and my daughter is studying in the 3rd grade. I'm learning a lot, both in terms of business management and leading meetings. I am also learning information technology, something I really like! At the beginning of my work for Afrikable, I slept on the floor of my aunt’s house. Now I have been able to build myself a traditional makuti house, where I have my own bed with mattress and mosquito net. But my dream would be to buy my own land and build a stone house. I still have a long way to go, but I have opened a bank account where I have started saving a little each month.”

 


fatuma-boru-testimonyFatuma Boru starting working for Afrikable only recently, but she already sees improvements in her life. She belongs to the recycling group, Recycling Solutions Lamu. She likes learning to read and write and learning new things in her work. But what she likes most is having financial independence.

 

“I used to have to wait for my husband to bring money home. He had no stable job and hardly ever brought money for food to eat. When I was passing by the shops, I saw things I wanted to buy for myself or my children, but I couldn't because my husband did not give me any money. Now I have my own salary, and if I see something I like or want I can buy it myself.”

 

 


fatuma-hassan-testimonyFatuma Hassan has worked for Afrikable since the beginning. Her life was very hard before; her husband left her during her last pregnancy, leaving her alone to care for their 6 other young children, who were sick. She earned her living selling firewood, for which she used to earn about 50 cents a day. None of her children could go to school. She can now pay school fees and feed them well. Her two oldest daughters, aged 15 and 17, are married and are mothers. She now wants a better life for her younger daughters. She wants them to stay at school and go to university.

 

“I still remember how much effort it took for me to learn how to use the sewing machine. I never thought I would get it, but here at Afrikable everyone supported me and I eventually managed to learn. Now I can sew any product in the store and also clothing for my children.”

 

 


mariamu-thomas-testimonyMariamu Thomas has been working for Afrikable for more than 2 years. Her life before, she says, was not that bad. She made bracelets and sold them in the market. She sometimes made a lot, and sometimes a little, but she could earn €40.00 per month. Her husband has another house in Amboseli, and every year his wives take turns living with him in Lamu. In Amboseli life is very hard, but since working for Afrikable, she is able to bring money home and her husband allows her to stay in Lamu all the time. She sees big changes in her life; she now earns an average of €140 per month and gets sick pay, which is different from when she worked alone.

 

“What I like most are my classes where I learn to read and write. Before I never knew and I thought I would never learn. Now I am 40 years old and I can make a phone call without having to get help”

 


testimonio-betty When Betty was little her parents got divorced. Her older brothers went to live with her father, and she stayed with her mother. Her mother was always sick and she usually had to be absent from school to help her. At the age of 9 she decided to leave school and seek a job as a domestic employee to be able to bring money to her home.

At 15 she met the man whom she married a bit later, but their relationship didn’t work out… There was never any money in the house, he abused her, and when she got pregnant she decided to leave home to be able to provide her son with a better future. When she was 16 her friend taught her to make multicolor decorations for sandals. She used to visit factories to try to find out if they had a job and if she could make some sandals. Otherwise, she used to ask people to wash their clothes. If she didn’t find any work, they could not eat that day.

 

Betty is a really good worker, she is very productive in her work, so she has a good salary on Afrikable. Since she is in this project, her life has changed drastically: she can send money to her mother, she has requested her ID card, and as soon as she gets it she wants to open a savings account for her and another for her son. She would not want her son to suffer what she had to suffer in her life. Betty is only 18 years old.

 


testimonio-mama-madinaMama Madina doesn’t remember how old she is, she says that more than 60. She had 10 sons, but two have already died. She tells us that no one would hire a woman her age, and, even less, a woman who cannot read or write.

She is very happy with the new sandals project, because she realizes that her job is important. Her job is to apply glue on the different pieces, to dye the materials and to apply wax to polish the sandals and make them look shiny.

With the salary she is earning she can bring food home and buy medicines for her sick husband. It also allows her to pay for the schools of her sons and she can even send one of them to high school.

 

 


testimonio-raliaRalia is 28 years old and has 5 children. She remembers her husband telling her, some time ago, that he was 60, but she doesn’t know how old he is now. He was her father’s best friend and when he became widower, her father offered her as his wife. She was only 15. Her husband is a good man, doesn’t beat neither her nor their children, and used to work as a watchman, for what he earned €50 per month. It was not too much, but at least they had something to eat daily. That was so, until he caught an eye infection that made him completely lose his vision, and now the whole family depends on her.

Ralia joined Afrikable some years ago through the recycling group. At Afrikable, she learned to read and write. She is a hard worker and skillful person, and whatever she sets out to do, she does it well. In the sandals project, she holds a position that in Kenya is exclusively reserved for men: she is in charge of drawing and cutting the different pieces of the sandal and of their subsequent assembly. As the first woman shoemaker in Kenya, she feels very happy and proud. We are also very proud of her.

SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER

ABOUT AFRIKABLE

Afrikable is a Spanish charitable organisation, registered in the National Register of Associations under number 1/1/594088 and in the Spanish Agency of International Cooperation for Development (AECID)'s Register of Non-Governmental Organisations under number 2033.

 

In Kenya our association is called Afrika Able Organization and is registered with Kenya's NGO Coordination Board under number 10976.

WHERE ARE WE

  • Lamu, Kenia.
    Madrid, Spain
  • +34 605 722 162