You are here: Home / WHAT WE DO / CHILD DEVELOPMENT / TESTIMONIES

TESTIMONIES - CHILD DEVELOPMENT

maka-testimonyHello, my name is Maka and I am 14 years old. Before discovering Afrikable, I helped my mum take care of my younger siblings, clean, wash clothes and sometimes cook. I could not go to school and could not read or write. Since my mum got sick because of her recent pregnancy and our dad left us, I had to work chopping wood and carrying it into town to sell so I could earn money. Since my mum has been working for Afrikable, I have been able to go to school. What I like most is being able to learn and go to school with older children. I want to be a pilot.

 

 

 


mohamed-testimonyHello, my name is Mohamed and I am 9 years old. Before coming to Afrikable, I played with my brothers at home. I went to school when my mum could afford it. Now my mum works for Afrikable sewing and my brothers and I can go to school every day. What I like is to read, and in the future I would like to continue reading. When I am older, I want to be one of those people who draws houses which are then built.

 

 

 

 


rahima-testimonyMy name is Rahima and I am 9 years old. Before my mum started working for Afrikable, I had to do chores before going to school. I did not eat breakfast and I was hungry in class. Now all I have to do is go to school and I have time to play with my friends. I really like the food at Afrikable! When I get older, I would like to work in a shop.

 

 

 

 

  


yeyo-testimonyMy name is Simaloi but my family call me Yeyo, which in Masai for mum. I am 11 years old and my mum has been working for Afrikable for two years. Before, I lived in Amboseli. I got up at 5 am and waited for my mum to prepare breakfast, if there was any food left over from the previous day. If there was none, I could not eat breakfast. Then I had to take the goats to graze until 4 in the afternoon. When I returned my mum had prepared the food, usually ugali. Then I helped my mum to bring water. I did not like fetching water because it was far away and I had no time to play with my friends. I had never been to school. I am now at school and I enjoy studying. I like living in Lamu because I don't have to take care of the goats and I can go to school. The food at Afrikable is very nice and I really like it, plus I can play with my friends. In the afternoon I help my mother to cook and fetch water, but the well is close to home so I do not care.


bocha-testimonyMy name is Jumaa, but my friends call me Bocha. I am 6 years old. What I like about being at Afrikable is drinking milk every day. We can also play with toys, and I like this a lot!

 

 

 

 

 


lynea-testimonyHello. My name Lynea. Before I came to Afrikable, I stayed at home all day in case my mum sent me to do errands. Now I go to school and I really like to read the alphabet and numbers. I like rice and playing with my friends! When I get older, I want to have a farm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER

ABOUT AFRIKABLE

Afrikable is a Spanish charitable organisation, registered in the National Register of Associations under number 1/1/594088 and in the Spanish Agency of International Cooperation for Development (AECID)'s Register of Non-Governmental Organisations under number 2033.

 

In Kenya our association is called Afrika Able Organization and is registered with Kenya's NGO Coordination Board under number 10976.

WHERE ARE WE

  • Lamu, Kenia.
    Madrid, Spain
  • +34 605 722 162